San Franciscans of color encouraged to apply to join Civil Grand Jury to investigate city government

The San Francisco Superior Court is accepting applications for Civil Grand Jury service for the 2014-2015 term, Judge Teri L. Jackson announced.

“As chair of the Court’s Civil Grand Jury Committee, I would like to encourage San Franciscans to participate in this important civic opportunity,” Judge Jackson said. “To ensure that San Francisco’s rich diversity is reflected in the members selected to serve on the Civil Grand Jury, the court has made great efforts to reach out to many different communities.”

In California, the state Constitution requires each county to have at least one grand jury empanelled at all times.

Civil Grand Jury service presents an exciting opportunity to contribute to the well being of San Francisco. Members investigate city departments, agencies and officials with an eye toward increasing the efficiency and effectiveness of government. The Jury selects its own topics for investigation. Service is flexible: It is up to the Grand Jury to determine how it will complete its investigations and how to accommodate the schedules of individual jurors.

The application deadline is April 30, 2014. Applicants must be U.S. citizens who are at least 18 years old, have lived in San Francisco for at least the past 12 months, have no felony convictions, and are able to communicate in English. For more information about the Civil Grand Jury and to obtain an application, visit

The Civil Grand Jury’s term runs from July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015. After initial screening, eligible applicants will be interviewed by Superior Court judges, who then recommend a pool 30 jurors. From that pool, 19 members are selected randomly to serve and the remaining 11 serve as alternates.

Applicants must be prepared to devote up to 20 hours per week to Civil Grand Jury service. The Grand Jury meets once a week, and additional subcommittee meetings are scheduled as necessary. Members receive a $15 per diem for each meeting attended during the term.

The Civil Grand Jury Committee, appointed by Presiding Judge Cynthia Ming-mei Lee, is comprised of Judge Jackson, Judge Gail Dekreon, Judge Suzanne Ramos Bolanos, Judge Angela Bradstreet, Judge Samuel Feng, Judge Jeffrey Ross, Judge Donald Sullivan, Judge Julie Tang, Commissioner Rebecca Wightman and Judge Monica Wiley.